Main Home News etc

January Special Guest

Luke Wright

Luke Wright 300

Tue 6th Jan – Hysteria, Dalstan 578 Kingsland Road, E8 4AH
Wed 7th Jan – The Birdcage, Bristol
Mon 12th Jan – Green Note, Camden
Tue 13th Jan – The Old Fire Station, Oxford
Wed 14th Jan – The Fountain, Cambridge

Luke Wright poems are often on the radio, generally BBC Radios 3 & 4.
He is a regular contributor to the Sony Award-winning Saturday Live.
He’s sometimes heard reviewing records on 6 Music.
He writes bawdy bar room ballads about small town tragedies
and Westminster rogues.
Alongside his own shows, Luke is John Cooper Clarke’s support act.
Luke’s work has proved a great hit with Clarke’s fans,
playing in front of up to 2,000 people a night at venues such as
The London Palladium and The Philharmonic Hall in Liverpool.

“One of the funniest and most brilliant poets of his generation.”
Johann Hari, The Independent

ROYAL ALBERT HALL
NATIONAL SLAM FINAL
RESULTS:

 Individual Winners:

Vanessa Kisuule and Layla Josephine

(who tied in the final)

Team Winners:

Hammer & Tongue Hackney
(Sam Berkson, Paula Varjack, and Amy McCallister)

 

February Special Guest

Thick Richard

Thick Richard 300

Tue 3rd Feb – Hysteria, Dalstan 578 Kingsland Road, E8 4AH
Wed 4th Feb – The Birdcage, Bristol
Thu 5th Feb – Komedia, Brighton
Mon 9th Feb – Green Note, Camden
Tue 10th Feb – The Old Fire Station, Oxford
Wed 11th Feb – The Fountain, Cambridge

Thick Richard has been pedaling his potty-mouthed poems at festivals and
clubs up and down the land for the last 15 years. His cynical, lyrical,
jet black humour, intelligent wordplay, well-crafted verse, and occasionally
acerbic well-targetted comic attacks have  earned him much respect from artists and audiences from
Edinburgh to Glastonbury.“Stu-fu**ing-pendious” John Cooper Clarke

 


Salena Saliva – A Strong and Stiffly Worded Letter

Adam Kammerling National Champion 2012

Oxford Team Champions 2013