Main Home News etc

May Special Guest

Vanessa Kisuule

Vanessa Kisuule

Vanessa Kisuule

Tue 2-May-17 – The Book Club, 100 Leonard Street, Shoreditch EC2A 4RH
Wed 3-May-17 – Smoke and Mirrors, 8 Denmark Street, Bristol BS1 5DQ
Thu 4-May-17 – Komedia, 44-47 Gardner St, Brighton BN1 1UN
Fri 5-May-17 – Cambridge Junction, Clifton Way, Cambridge, CB1 7GX
Tue 9-May-17 – The Old Fire Station, 40 George St, Oxford OX1 2AQ
Wed 10-May-17 – The Art House, 178 Above Bar Street, Southampton S014 7DW
Vanessa Kisuule is a writer, performer, burlesque artist and general empress of blag based in Bristol. She has won over ten slam titles including The Roundhouse Slam 2014, Hammer and Tongue National Slam 2014 and the Nuoryican Poetry Slam. She has been featured on BBC iPlayer, Radio 1, and Radio 4’s Woman’s Hour, The Guardian, Blue Peter, Sky TV, Don’t Flop and TEDx. She has performed up and down the country and internationally at Glastonbury, Vienna, Sweden, Belgium, Germany, Bangladesh and New York. Her debut poetry collection ‘Joyriding The Storm’ was published in 2014.

June Special Guest

Poetcurious

Poetcurious

Poetcurious

Thu 1-Jun-17 – Komedia, 44-47 Gardner St, Brighton BN1 1UN
Fri 2-Jun-17 – Cambridge Junction, Clifton Way, Cambridge, CB1 7GX
Tue 6-Jun-17 – The Book Club, 100 Leonard Street, Shoreditch EC2A 4RH
Wed 7-Jun-17 – Smoke and Mirrors, 8 Denmark Street, Bristol BS1 5DQ
Tue 13-Jun-17 – The Old Fire Station, 40 George St, Oxford OX1 2AQ
Wed 14-Jun-17 – The Art House, 178 Above Bar Street, Southampton S014 7DW
Raised by Hip-hop in North West London, Poetcurious is a performer, artist, DJ and educator. He is co-host of events RISE UP and HEADSPIN as well as the REACHING OUT radio show on Soho Radio and co-convener of seminar series HipHopEdUk.

Poetcurious writes and performs poetry that is socially critical, optimistically lyrical, infused with the rhythms of the music that he grew from.