Hammer & Tongue Cambridge presents a year round programme of poetry slams with touring guest artists via Zoom conferencing until the Covid19 crisis is past. You can buy a ticket to be part of the interactive audience on Zoom or watch on Facebook Live, Periscope, or YouTube Live. The events generally take place on the first Friday of every month, Oct-Jun inclusive, with the Regional Final being held in September.

Fay Roberts is the Regional Coordinator.
contact email hidden; JavaScript is required

Coming up:

Friday 1 May 2020 – Edalia Day + Open Slam, supported by Bella Basura

Link to Facebook event here; buy tickets online here.

Eight compete for a place in the Regional Final.

Edalia Day (@edaliaday) is a transgender/non-binary spoken word artist, video designer and theatre maker based in Norwich. Trained at Lecoq and Alra, their spoken word is full of energy and theatrical flair and their theatre combines comedy, live music and interactive projection mapping. They’re currently touring Too Pretty To Punch, a comedy spoken word show about gender, the media and not fitting any of the boxes.

To find out more, visit

Bella Basura has been writing around the edges and through the fringes since 1996, when her first unpublished novel appeared. Name-checked in The Headpress Guide to The Counter-Culture in 2001, she has occupied her time writing, performing, bookbinding, blogging, bookselling, leading workshops and self-publishing. She co-edits Edgewords Anthology, an annual chapbook of creative writing from The Edge Café now in its fourth year.

A playlist of videos from the May 2020 features
(Edalia Day and sacrificial slammer Kathryn O’Driscoll)

Link to Facebook event here; buy tickets online here.

Our headliners this year, left-to-right and top-to-bottom:

6-Dec-19: Amber-Page
3-Jan-20: Robin Lamboll
7-Feb-20: Dan Simpson: Poet
6-Mar-20: Tina Sederholm
3-Apr-20: Hollie McNish
1-May-20: Edalia Day
4-Jun-20: Leanne Moden
2-Oct-20: Rick Dove